I have the flu.

My son has graciously shared his germs with me so that I may too have body aches, fever, chills, and a headache. Thank goodness that I don’t have any gastrointestinal issues. That’s misery on a whole different level.

I think I’m most frustrated because this happened after a rest day. Hindsight being what it is, I wish I had gone for a run, but now I have to wait out this stupid virus. Stupid virus, indeed. I imagine that sometime over the weekend I’ll feel better. The bad news is that my husband’s USMC unit is holding Family Day this weekend. I need to get a new dependent ID and hopefully meet some new friends. But if I’m not feeling better by tonight I will not be accompanying him since I don’t want everyone hating me if I pass this on to anyone. The best part is that I don’t get the opportunity to be sick by myself. There are no sick days when you’re a parent.

Anyhoo, now I need to develop a plan for when I am back into running shape. I think I’m going to have some 30- 45 minute runs after I feel better, essentially just skipping my LSD. I’m not happy about it but I shouldn’t go for a 7 mile run after not running for so long and having been sick. It’s just not smart.

I think it’s time for some more medicine to keep the fever down before I start hallucinating. I hope everyone else is in good health and is listening to their bodies. We are not invincible, people. Wash your hands and drink your fluids.

