I feel like this training is going quickly. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or not. And I’ve definitely learned a thing or two along the way.

  1. I’m no spring chicken. I am not in grade school, high school, or even college anymore. I cannot have the expectation that I can pick up where I left off. I need to embrace this new stage where I am capable of a whole new level of athleticism.
  2. Building up mileage is a process and even if it is a beautiful day out I need to be aware that adding too much mileage in one run puts me at risk for injury and then feeling discouraged. Do not sabotage yourself.
  3. Listening to my body is important. I know the difference between soreness and pain. New runners often don’t. If an ailment makes you limp after a run it’s probably safe to say that you should take some complete rest days or replace a run with a very low impact cardio workout. You are not weak for making a sound decision to protect the hard work/mileage you’ve already accumulated.
  4. There are some days I just don’t have the energy to go for a run. It’s not just that I’m feeling lazy and I tell myself “Nah, I’ll put off my workout for today.” It’s when I only got a few hours of decent sleep or when my son is extra demanding of my energy (he’s an energy vacuum). If I can’t remember where I just put my phone when I had it in my hand just 5 minutes ago it’s probably not going to be a good run. Unless I can manage a nap. Then it’s game on!

So last I left you all, I made a comment about a certain aching in my backside. I took it very light the following runs and my LSD went perfectly.

Monday: Rest

Tuesday: 25 min arms & shoulders

Wednesday: 2.16 mi (25:48 time/11:56 pace) injury prevention

Thursday: 1 mile (9:25) timed mile with 800m warm up & 800m cool down

Friday: core workout

Saturday: 2 hr walking around Strawberry Festival

Sunday: Rest

 

So yeah, a pitiful 3.16 total miles, but now I have absolutely zero pain. Totally worth it. I decided due to the weather to pass on my LSD on Sunday and complete it the following day. It was a judgment call and it didn’t turn into a multiple day break so I stand by my decision. We as a family will be out of town this weekend so I imagine I’ll get an opportunity to run on a treadmill at a hotel. Can you feel my excitement? Or at the very least can you feel my sarcasm?

