Week two? Already? It so doesn’t feel like 14 days of training. I’m not sure if that’s a good thing or a bad thing. I’ll let you know. Here’s what my week looked like:

Monday: Rest day

Tuesday: 3.85 miles (45:30 time/11:49 pace)

Wednesday: 4 miles (46:07 time/11:31 pace)

Thursday: Leg workout (squats w. kettlebell, lunges, calf raises)

Friday: Core workout (planks, crunches)

Saturday: 1.92 miles (21:08 time/11:00 pace)

Sunday: 5.43 miles LSD (01:07:16 time/12:23 pace)

 

If you have taken note of my original training plan you can tell that I’ve tweaked it a little already. I decided that long slow distance days are incredibly necessary for my training. So every Sunday I will do a long slow distance, increasing mileage ever so slowly. This will be my only day to concentrate on mileage rather than time spent running. My pace will (hopefully?) improve as my training progresses and while I’d love to finish the marathon in 4 hours or less (that equates to a 9 min pace) I’ll just be happy to make it through without the pace van taunting me from behind.

Since today is my rest day I will enjoy being lazy… and by “being lazy” I mean “taking care of a toddler, doing laundry, & continue unpacking.” I’m hoping all my fellow 1st time marathoners are doing well and are injury free. Keep it up!

