Two posts in one day! Must be your lucky day!

IMG_1511

Looking back on my self-made training plan makes me feel… well, nauseous. But after the nausea subsides I feel encouraged. I have a plan. That is fact alone is consoling.

Let’s see what’s in store for me this week.

Run 30 minutes for 3 days and 45 minutes 1 day. Weightlifting/cross-training to engage core 1 day.

This week is also when we move from our apartment to a townhouse. So I think it’s safe to say that my cross-training will consist of lifting heavy objects with many, many repetitions.

Monday: Run 30 minutes.

Tuesday: Run 30 minutes.

Wednesday: Concentrate on stretching. Maybe some yoga?

Thursday: Run 30 minutes.

Friday: Rest

Saturday: Cross-train/Moving day!

Sunday: Run 45 minutes. (Goal is to run at least 5 miles.)

This schedule may change just because the day we move our big furniture may switch days due to weather. Improvise, Adapt, Overcome right? I’m going to see how my schedule feels on my body. Maybe I’ll find a professionally made training plan. Maybe I’ll call up my old college cross country coach and see what he recommends. Basically what I’m saying is that I don’t know what I’m doing. There is a small chance that my brain is convinced I’m in the same shape I was in when I was doing track and cross-country in my younger days. Basically, I have an outline and I’m just going to do the best I can. My goal is to run 4-5 days at an easier pace and do at least one long run a week. This is my minimum. I’m going to listen to my body and if I need to change things up to avoid monotony and injury I definitely will. Just because my plan calls for 120 minutes of running doesn’t mean I can’t do 120 minutes of repeats or a tempo run or a hill workout.

I’ll let you know how this all went at the end of the week. Plus look for a review on my brand spankin’ new GPS watch!

If anyone out there has a training plan that worked well for their first marathon feel free to pass the link along!

