Dear Future Me,

I have no idea if you’ll remember that I’ve written this, but hopefully these words will forever be in the back of your mind. Sometimes you need to be your own cheerleader. Not because no one else supports you but who knows you better than yourself. With that being said, here are some things that I hope for you.

I hope that you stop making excuses. It can always be too hard. Too cold. Too exhausting. Too inconvenient. Too easy. Too… whatever. Excuses keep you from growing, learning, and evolving. To be the best person you can be you need to step out of the shadows and make goals… and then complete them! You can be the person who always has a plan or starts a project, but I hope more than anything that you have taught your son to finish what he starts.

Speaking of your kiddo, I hope that he is nothing like you expected. By that I mean I hope he is even better. That he surprises you in the best possible way. I hope you’ve taught him sacrifice, courage, responsibility, respect, and unconditional love. Everything else can be learned along the way.

I hope you have run a hundred races. And achieved a mastery in at least one subject. I hope you are working in a job you love and feel valued.

Finally, I hope you and your husband are blissfully, over the moon happy and in love. I hope you have remembered to laugh, talk, and be thankful of each other every day. That you are grateful for the opportunities afforded to you because of the path he has chosen. I hope you have shown undeniable support and enduring love.

Remember that you get what you give.

Love,

Elisabeth

