I think it’s important to recognize my personal obstacles that may get in the way of achieving my running goals.

  1. Finding time to run* I’m a stay at home mother right now. My husband works semi-normal hours (wasn’t always the case) which gives me the option to run pre-dawn or post-dusk. I really dislike running in the mornings because my legs feel so stiff. I know it’s something I should get used to since many races take place in…. you guessed it…. the mornings. Everyone should run when the mood strikes them or at a consistent time each day so you can program your internal clock to say “It’s time to run.” I like to run in the evenings preferably before sunset but daylight savings time doesn’t always allow for that. I’m also not one of those moms who wants to take a jogging stroller and her kid out on the roads. Running is a time to de-stress for me. My free therapy. No kids allowed. And then there are times when I just don’t feel like running no matter how much I fight the urge. My couch is such a sweet-talker.
  2. Staying hydrated* Water is not my usual go to beverage. Lately, I’ve been adding Mio to my water bottle and it’s helped a lot. I like it better than Crystal Light because Mio is already in liquid form and you can customize the intensity of the flavor by adding as little or lot as you prefer. It is calorie free since it uses an artificial sweetener. I’ve tried the fruit punch and blueberry lemonade. Both are pretty tasty. I also use an Intak bottle by Thermos. It has a dial on the top that helps you keep track of how many bottles you’ve ingested throughout the day. (I originally got it when I was pregnant and tried my darnedest to get in the recommended amount of watery ounces).
  3. Proper nutrition* I have the eating habits of a toddler. I love cheese, potatoes, chicken, bread, etc. I really don’t consume enough protein, fruit and vegetables (especially vegetables). It’s not that I don’t like vegetables.  I love avocado, tomatoes, spinach, carrots, corn, peas, squash, and zucchini. But we don’t buy produce as often as we should. It’s a bad habit. I’m working on it. Eating is for energy and you need a lot of it to run 26.2 miles.

What are your fitness pitfalls? Let me know if and how you’ve overcome them. You might give me some ideas 🙂

